Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Richard Grannon The Spartan Life Coach Narcissism Support

Sexually Abused as a child and now addicted to a Narcissist - PLEASE HELP

abusedAndAlone

Sexually Abused as a child and now addicted to a Narcissist - PLEASE HELP

Post by abusedAndAlone on Sun Oct 16, 2016 5:12 am

I am a 40 year old male living in Texas, U.S.A. I recently had an encounter with what I believe to be a woman with a cluster b Personality Disorder. I have no background in psychology so it's hard for me to say definitively my ex has a disorder, but I have dated plenty of women and this last one was very, very different. I am a trained scientist with masters degrees in mathematics and computer science and I build missile and rocket systems for the Department of Defense. I mention this because I am aware of logical fallacies such as "counting the hits and forgetting the misses", and though it's impossible for me to be totally objective I tried the best I could using my scientific training. I spent a year researching the cluster b disorders as much as I could and she fits narcissism very well according to the DSM. This relationship made me realize that I am a co-dependent and a people pleaser. I let someone treat me so poorly and kept trying to make her happy at all costs. Even though she was making me feel terrible about myself. I kept every text from her for the purpose of analysis. I'm trying to get to the root of why I let this happen to me. Because I did. I let it happen. I could have stopped it. She lied to me on numerous occasions, put me down, and then played the victim. she performed the classic idealize, devalue, discard tactic. I learned later, from mutual friends, she had exhibited the same behavior in her past relationships, including with her previous two husbands. I am trying to recover and to do so I want to get to the root of why I let this happen. I cannot stop thinking about this last girlfriend and I want to know why. I would like your opini