Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Richard Grannon The Spartan Life Coach Narcissism Support

Identity? Now what? Where to start?

mkmkmk28

Identity? Now what? Where to start?

Post by mkmkmk28 on Fri Apr 01, 2016 4:29 pm

Hello,
    I just joined and my name is MK.  I come from a narcissitic family, stemming from my narcissitc, mother.  I was the scapegoat.  well can't really say was, I still am to them but not in my Id anymore.  I also ended up married to one, now divorced and three years after the divorce he died from cancer.  But the damage is done but I have hope now after searching so much for relief and so much work.  I have held on tight to these unhealthy people all for fear of lonilieness and now I have no idea who I am really and even a clue of the first place to start...I am overwhelmed with where to start?  I mean, I know things I enjoy, dreams that I have but those things don't happen overnight...I am just beginning and its hard. There are days where I feel like, who am I? And that makes me sad and angry at time. Any suggestions?

trueself1

Re: Identity? Now what? Where to start?

Post by trueself1 on Sat Apr 02, 2016 6:55 pm

I come from the same type of family background and the best advice I can give you is to be by yourself for awhile. Like I had to learn to start to really put myself first. It's really terrifying for a little while but then something happens and it forces you deal with stuff you have been running from. It will allow you to put all the focus on yourself and give you space to start developing your sense of self and identity. This will just kind of naturally start happening as you start to begin to rely on yourself to feel good again. Doing affirmation work has been helping me to change my mindset slowly and that is helping in this process. It doesn't fix everything but it has started to help me feel less overwhelmed and gain a little bit of a foothold especially on the lost, lonely, empty feelings.

mkmkmk28